Recommended Reading: The Collagist

Recently, I was fortunate enough to secure an internship with one of my favorite online literary journals, The Collagist. On the 15th of every month, they release one of the Web’s premier doses of short fiction, novel excerpts, poems, non-fiction, and reviews. This month’s issue is no exception.

As a poet, I am especially stoked for the poems in this issue, celebrating National Poetry Month. This issue features the likes of Denise Duhamel, C. Dale Young, and a collaborative effort from Nate Pritts and Matt Hart.

I read another poem of Duhamel’s, How It Will End, earlier this year during one of our meetings, which went over really well. The poem in The Collagist is one of my favorite poems that I have read in a long while. I find it really difficult to negotiate the meaning of love in a poem without being lame/sappy/awkward, something this poem succeeds in.

C. Dale Young’s four poems (what a feat that is! 4 poems in an issue) look familiar and seem connected, but the ways they approach language and subject matter are anything but ordinary.

Did you know Matt Hart is a Ball State graduate? I didn’t until last week, even after I had read his collection Who’s Who Vivid last fall. These collaborative poems are something definitely to look forward to.

Also, be sure to check out the review of Tony Hoagland’s new book.

Though I profiled these pieces, don’t ignore the rest of this issue. If I have learned anything from reading every issue of The Collagist, it is that nothing is to be ignored, because you’ll miss something sweet.

Leave a Reply

